Roxbury NJ Underage Drinking Attorneys
Underage drinking is not just “something kids do”. A conviction on a juvenile’s record can have devastating consequences on their future including loss of preferred education and occupation opportunities. Many think only of loss of driver’s license, fines and other short term issues but those issues are insignificant compared to the long term effects. At The Darling Law Firm, our experienced juvenile defense attorneys understand the dramatic effect an underage drinking conviction can have on your child’s future and we know how to help them.
It is easy for juveniles to find themselves in legal trouble as a result of alcohol. Underage drinking issues are not limited to DUI. A juvenile may simply be at a party where other juveniles are drinking and, though not participating in the drinking, find themselves facing these criminal charges.
Underage Drinking Offenses
N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 Possession or Consumption of Alcohol By Persons Under Legal Age; Penalty
It is illegal for juveniles under 18, and all persons under 21, in New Jersey to possess or consume alcoholic beverages in a public place, school or motor vehicle. There is a minimum fine of $500 or more and, in the event the offense occurs in a motor vehicle, the offender’s driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months. If the juvenile is under 17 the suspension will begin at sentencing until the juvenile reaches the age of 17 and then the issuance of their license will be delayed for an additional 6 months. Also, the offending juvenile may be required to complete an alcohol education program.
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 Underage DWI (“Baby DWI”) in New Jersey
It is illegal for anyone under 21 years old to operate a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their blood. Although sometimes referred to as a “baby DWI” this statute has serious consequences. Your license will be suspended for up to 90 days, you can be ordered to perform up to 30 days of community service and participate in up to 12 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is between .08% and .10%, you will also be sentenced as an adult under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The penalties include up to 30 days in jail, 12-48 hours in IDRC, a 3 month loss of driver’s license and a fine of $250 to $400. If your BAC is .10% or greater, the penalties increase to loss of driving privileges for up to 1 year, fines between $300-$500, a maximum of 30 days in jail and 12-48 hours in IDRC. The penalties for a juvenile driving with a BAC of .08% or greater may find themselves facing the penalties for both N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 together.
Not Only Juveniles Face The Consequences of Underage Drinking
N.J.S.A. 2C:33-16 Alcoholic beverages; bringing or possession on school property by person of legal age
It is illegal for any person of legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages, to knowingly and without express written permission of the school board, principal or other designated authority, bring or possess any alcoholic beverages on any property owned by any school and used for school purposes.
N.J.S.A. 2C:33-17 Availability of Alcoholic Beverages to Underage Individual
It is illegal to knowingly offer, serve or make available to any individual under the age of 21 any alcoholic beverage or to make available any property or facility to anyone who will make said property available for the purpose of permitting the consumption of alcohol to those under age 21. This statute does not apply to any parent or guardian offering alcoholic beverages to their own charge.
Your Northern NJ Juvenile DUI/DWI Attorney
Your future is at stake if you are convicted of an underage DUI/DWI in New Jersey. You need an experienced juvenile defense lawyer at your side to have the best possible chance of defeating the charges you are facing. At The Darling Law Firm we have the experience you need to review the evidence the police have against you and seek ways to protect your license and livelihood. We are committed to assisting our Juvenile DUI/DWI clients and regularly participate in continuing education related to changes and loopholes in the DWI statutes, discovery, Breathylizer technology and municipal court cases so we are prepared to tackle tough cases for our clients.
In order to serve our clients throughout Northern New Jersey we have offices in Roxbury and Rochelle Park, New Jersey. We serve clients in Morris, Sussex, Bergen, Passaic, Union, Hudson, Essex and Warren Counties.
Now is the time to call 973-584-6200 to protect your rights or click here to e-mail us.
Forms of payment accepted: Cash, check, traveler’s check, Visa Mastercard, Discover, money order and Paypal.