Changes to NJ Driving Without Insurance Penalties?
- August 4, 2013
- No comments
A Bill, A-1844, proposed by the NJ State Assembly would change the penalty for driving without insurance in the state of New Jersey. Presently, driving without insurance carries the heavy penalty of loss of license for a period of 1 year from the date of conviction or plea. Often those driving without insurance are unaware their insurance is expired. Perhaps they have moved and the bill comes only once a year to an old address, there may be a former spouse or partner withholding mail or the person may forget to update the automatic payment when changing accounts. Because of the many reasons other than willful intent to drive without insurance that people commit this offense, the Assembly has proposed offering municipal court judges the opportunity to consider the reasons presented by the offender when meting out punishment. If this bill passes, municipal court judges will be given discretion in deciding whether an individual’s license should be suspended and, if so, permits the judge to mete out a suspension of between 2 months and 1 year. Presently, in addition to mandatory suspension, there is a fine of between $300 and $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court. The Bill does not apply to subsequent offenses which call for a fine of up to $5,000, incarceration for a term of 14 days and 30 days of community service along with the loss of driving privileges for a period of 2 years from the date of conviction or plea. If you are facing a charge of driving without insurance in NJ you should seek experienced legal counsel to protect your rights. For more information about driving while suspended, DUI, controlled dangerous substances (CDS) in a motor vehicle, reckless driving or other serious motor vehicle charges in New Jersey visit www.HeatherDarlingLawyer.com. This blog is for informational purposes only and not intended to replace the advice of an attorney.