Substantial Increase in Penalties for Harboring a Sex Offender in NJ?
- September 6, 2012
- No comments
Pending legislation in New Jersey would increase the penalty for harboring or concealing a sex offender. The current offense grades for violating N.J.S. 2C:29-3 are 3rd degree if the sex offender is guilty of a 2nd degree offense and 4th degree if the sex offender is guilty of a 3rd degree offense. Any lesser offense on the part of the sex offender would subject the individual harboring or concealing the offender to a disorderly persons offense. If passed Assembly bill A-2079 subject an actor harboring or concealing a person subject to registration as a sex offender while the person has knowledge the sex offender has not registered to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment without eligibility for parole. In the event the offense is of the 3rd degree, the actor would be ineligible for parole for a minimum of 3 years. In the event the offense is of the 4th degree, the actor would be eligible for parole for a minimum of 1 year. This bill is sponsored by Assemblywomen Munoz, serving Morris, Somerset and Union, and Simon, serving Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex and Somerset, and Assemblyman Caputo, serving Essex County. This blog is for informational purposes only and in no way intended to replace the advice of an attorney regarding your specific matter. If you are accused of a sex offense or harboring a sex offender, you should consult an experienced criminal law attorney immediately in order to protect your rights. For more information on sex offenses or other criminal law matters in New Jersey visit HeatherDarlingLawyer.com.